After Christmas Winter Decorations

This is long overdue! Christmas is over, and I never had time to decorate for Christmas. It’s such a bummer because I love  Christmas decor. I am determined, though, to still decorate for winter. Not Christmas, which is pretty easy (red candles, greenery, and you’re set) but late winter to early spring. Something that will match January, Valentine’s day, and the rainy, just-starting-to-get-green March. Here’s what I ended up doing:

Lots of silver. oh, and a new picture frame. $3 from Walmart, and it looks pretty good!

Lots of silver. oh, and a new picture frame. $3 from Walmart, and it looks pretty good!

Luke got me some mercury glass candle holders I had been dying to have from TJ Maxx, so I used those as my starting point. From there, I added white candles which I had on hand. My idea was to use mainly silver and white with a touch of another color (perhaps green or blue). I could have used blue candles but didn’t for two reasons:

  1. I don’t have blue candles
  2. I don’t really like blue. I only like it as a very subtle accent color.

Since the candles were unusually tall, I put the terrarium on one of the large books on the other side of the painting so that the heights were staggered but closer together. Now all I needed was a filler for the terrarium….

I loved the silver, white, and cream ornament balls on the stoneware plate in this picture:

I also loved these paper stars covered in glitter:

These are some frosted pine cones that I considered as well. Perhaps glitter pine cones? Is that tacky or on-trend these days?

Unfortunately, I waited too long after Christmas to get a good deal on the white, cream, and silver ornaments—there were perfectly good and cheap ones at Meijer! So instead I ended up working on making silver mercury glass pears. I got the idea from Pottery Barn:

I debated on going with glitter or silver leaf—here’s a great tutorial for coating fake fruit in glitter. But while glitter might have been easier, I really, really wanted these to match my mercury glass. So I went with silver leaf. Tutorial on the pear making process coming soon! Spoiler alert: It took a couple of hours, but I loved every minute of the craftiness.

Leave a Reply

