First Things First: I Heart Molly Weasley

Last week I stumbled upon this article about Molly Weasley’s hospitality. I thought it was brilliant.

Hospitality is about welcoming the stranger.

That’s the kind of home I want to create. While this blog is about home decor, and I will definitely be posting all sorts of pinterest-y things, the bottom line is that I want a home that welcomes. I want to be a host that welcomes.

I know what this looks like because my mom is very possibly the most hospitable person you will ever meet. You walk up the beautiful wrap around front porch and through the excellently decorated rooms, but what really sells the whole thing is how much you feel at home. Mom will be the first one to take your coat, offer you a drink, and ask if you’ve eaten. She’s not afraid to invite you to help in whatever task she’s taking on (like, hanging Christmas lights for my sister’s wedding, or sewing mittens out of old wool sweaters). My mom knows absolutely everything about etiquette, but she draws a line with her Emily Post book when it starts focusing on tradition instead of making the other person feel comfortable.

For some reason, this natural knack of helping people feel at home and everything didn’t pass on to me as easily as her creativity and eye for detail. So I’m hoping I can help it form just as I have my love of paint and shelving. Here goes!

Mom playing host at Luke’s and my wedding reception

2 comments on “First Things First: I Heart Molly Weasley

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Amber Mae says:

    I love your new blog! I cant wait to see more! And your right, your mom is my example every time.

Leave a Reply

